Is Oat Milk Gluten Free

Is oat milk gluten free

In recent years, alternative milk sources have gained a lot of popularity. Due to dietary restrictions such lactose sensitivity as well as general health issues, this is the case. Oat milk is one of the most often used varieties of plant-based milk. so, Is oat milk gluten free?

A dairy-free, lactose-free, and vegan-friendly alternative to cow’s milk is oat milk. It is made by soaking oats in water, then milling the resulting powder to a fine consistency. milkpluss.com will answer the question Is oat milk gluten free in the below.

What Is Oat Milk Used For?

Is oat milk gluten free
Is oat milk gluten free

Oat milk is rapidly rising to the top of the list of plant-based milks, being used in everything from baking to breakfast cereal. Oats’ low allergen content has contributed to the recent growth in popularity of this brand-new dairy-free milk substitute.

Oat milk is generally well tolerated by most people, unlike milk derived from soy and nuts.

It can be used as an alternative to dairy milk in recipes because of its delectably creamy consistency. Oat milk can be the perfect option for you if you’re seeking for a milk substitute. It works well in baking, dairy-free sauces, cereal, and even coffee. It has really been ranked as a top option for baristas and coffee enthusiasts.

Ingredients in Oat Milk

As already noted, water and oats are the main ingredients in oat milk. To make it more pleasant when packaged, it could include extra components like flavoring and preservatives. To improve the milk’s texture and consistency and give it a consistency more like to dairy milk, some additions could be added.

How Is It Made?

The same procedures are used to process oat milk as they are for other nut or dairy-free milks. A powerful blender is used to mix and puree the oats and water.

The liquid is filtered to get rid of any lingering particles once it has been blended. Oat milk, which is the remaining liquid, can be poured over cereal or used in any of your favorite dishes.

It is typically processed in factories using a variety of additives, as discussed above.

First Things First: Is oat milk gluten free?

Is oat milk gluten free
Is oat milk gluten free

Is oat milk gluten free? Oats are naturally gluten-free, and when they are produced in a dedicated gluten-free facility, they are suitable for consumption on a gluten-free diet.

Unfortunately, oats are frequently not gluten-free labeled since they haven’t been thoroughly tested. This is due to the fact that they are vulnerable to cross-contamination when they process cereals that contain gluten.

When rye, barley, or wheat are processed on the same machinery as oats, there is a risk of cross-contamination of the gluten in oats. Whether or not oats are designated as gluten-free, some people cannot tolerate them at all. If you fall under this category, stay away from any oat-based products, including oat milk.

So, Is oat milk gluten free?

Is oat milk gluten free? Whether it comes from rice, soy, coconut, seeds, or nuts, plant-based milk is often gluten-free. As a result, you would presume that oat milk is free of gluten. The answer, however, is not that easy.

Gluten is absent from unprocessed oats. Although it seems straightforward, there is a catch: Oat milk is usually prepared using the same equipment as wheat products.

Simply put, the increased potential of cross-contamination makes it so that oat milk is frequently not gluten-free. Because most facilities that process oat milk also process wheat products on the same machinery that is used to prepare oat milk, gluten contamination is frequently unavoidable.

Celiacs + avenin

Is oat milk gluten free, Oats, even those that are labelled gluten-free, may cause an adverse reaction in those who have celiac disease.

That’s because oats contain the protein avenin, which has a gluten-like effect. Most celiacs don’t have an issue with it, though.

Consult your doctor before eating oats if you have celiac disease or a gluten allergy.

That’s because oats contain avenin, which causes a similar reaction to gluten. Most celiacs don’t have an issue with it, though.

However, those who can tolerate oats and have celiac disease should exercise caution when buying oat milk. Unless they are specifically labeled as gluten-free, the oats used to make oat milk are likely to have come into contact with grains at a processing facility.

Gluten-free Oat Milk Brands

Is oat milk gluten free
Is oat milk gluten free

Is oat milk gluten free, Fortunately, there are brands of oat milk with less than 20ppm of gluten. You can seek for some of these possibilities in the grocery store if you’re looking for a brand of oat milk that’s gluten-free. You don’t need to worry about conducting additional research because all of these brands contain gluten-free labelling.

1. Elmhurst

A dairy business called Elmhurst was established in New York in 1925. In 2017, it made the switch to plant-based milks. Oat milk created from “milked oats” is offered by the company in a range of flavors, including plain, chocolate, and unsweetened.

Each of their milked oats is made with only whole grain oats, filtered water, natural flavors, salt, and cane sugar; there are no emulsifiers or gums. Additionally, a label that says “gluten-free” guarantees that the products’ gluten content is less than 20ppm.

2. Planet Oat

Oat milk from Planet Oat is usually referred to as “just right.” It gives a smoothie weight without overpowering the flavors of the other ingredients in your blender because it isn’t excessively sweet or oaty. They provide several taste options for their gluten-free oat milk.

In addition to being gluten-free, their oat milk is devoid of lactose, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, artificial preservatives, artificial colors, and artificial flavors. Furthermore, it comes in a wide range of delectable tastes, such as extra creamy, vanilla, original, and dark chocolate. Even better, their oat milk has soluble fiber and 2 grams of protein!

3. Califia Farms

California-based Califia Farms says it is dedicated to reducing the amount of sugar in its products. By releasing additional unsweetened choices since 2014, the company asserts that sugar has been reduced by 57%. It offers vanilla flavors, protein boosters, oat and mushroom blends, among other things.

It uses North American-harvested oats to make its gluten-free Oat Barista Blend. The milk contains no stabilizers or gums. Additionally, it is free of dairy, sugar, and carrageenan. The icing on the cake is that it is kosher, vegan, and non-GMO.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *